Lifestyle Legends

Half Mag / Half Zine

Best of all, you don’t need to be a PlayStation Plus member to get them

Sony has some good news for all the gamers stuck in self-isolation this week: it’s giving away two of widely recognized and widely lauded PS4 games absolutely free.

The games up for grabs include Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection that rounds up the first three games in the series and remasters them for the PS4, as well as the PS4 port of Journey.

  • Check out our PS4 Pro review
  • Here’s everything you need to know about the PS5
  • Interested in the best PC games?

According to a post on the PlayStation Blog, the games are part of the company’s new Play at Home Initiative that intends to help prevent the spread of Covid-19 and includes a generous $10 million fund for indie developers to help support them in this difficult time.

The games are available from April 15 at 8pm PST / 11pm EST (or April 16 at 4am BST) and will be available through May 5, 2020 at 8pm PDT / 11pm EST (or May 6 at 4am). Once you redeem the games, Sony says, they are yours to keep and the post makes no mention of needing a PlayStation Plus membership to snag the games.

Unfortunately, Sony says these games might take longer to download than usual – as the company is complying with the governments’ request to preserve internet bandwidth – but thankfully you have three weeks to jump on this deal.

It’s also worth noting that, in Germany and China, PS4 users will instead have access to Knack 2 and Journey for free during this time period.